Tags

, , ,

Some tidbits in this post about writing and reading…

Are you a writer of Christian books? I was deeply encouraged by this:

“A book is a missionary. You should write a book when you want to serve people you will never meet.” 

How is your reading in 2017? I’ve read 12 books, with books 13 and 14 almost completed. I have some book reviews planned. Did you know this year is the 500 year anniversary of the Protestant Reformation? This book would be a good choice, as reviewed by prolific book reviewer Bob: Katharina & Martin Luther.

I took this photo at a bookstore in Seattle back in 2009. I never realized until now that Tim Keller’s book is on the far right! Maybe you can’t tell, but it is. In this post I briefly review and interact with the book: The Reason for God (book review) – Are the Gospels legend?

Now I change the topic a bit, although writing is still the focus. A recent Christianity Today article created quite the reaction on social media: “Who’s In Charge of the Christian Blogosphere? The age of the Internet has birthed a crisis of authority, especially for women.”  — Where is the authority or accountability for female bloggers? Some liked the article, some did not, and perhaps some missed the point.

I won’t give an essay in response but will share links to a couple of rebuttals and offer my brief thoughts.

One reason I started blogging in December 2010 was that “the church” would not utilize my gifts – teaching, and more educational or academic giftings. Therefore I sought another outlet for them. (I am now in a church that will utilize my gifts, for which I am appreciative.) As this response says: “Churches, in general, have lacked rich resources for women who have grown beyond the adolescence of their faith, and lacked opportunities for these women to serve, struggle, question, doubt, preach, teach and lead.” Article here. So, church, consider your part in creating this so-called problem!

Another response is from author Michelle Van Loon: Some Thoughts On The Relationship Between Bloggers And The Local Church. She notes that the churches she has attended have had zero interest in her writing. None. How can she have accountability when she is totally ignored and the leadership has no interest in her writing? I left a comment after the post.

**Update: Wendy Alsup weighs in with her thoughts on her blog Practical Theology for Women: On Blogging and Church Authority. I particularly share concern #2.

