Tags

, ,

My book reading has screeched to a halt, but that doesn’t mean I am not reading. I’ve been reading long neglected piles of magazines around my house, such as Christianity Today and the Priscilla Papers (academic journal of CBE). I should have kept track, but I’ve probably read through at least 15. Some of these magazines are several years old, but most articles remain relevant, or have become relevant again (haha) – such as from 2012 when it was the last presidential election.

The July/Aug 2012 issue of CT had an interview with Marco Rubio. This jumped out to me [emphasis added]:

“Sometime in 2000, I unfortunately got really busy with political stuff. I perhaps didn’t do a good job of spiritually leading my family, which is one of the roles I play along side my wife.

Yes! Egalitarian marriage.

The summer 2014 issue of the Priscilla Papers featured an article on the Song of Songs. In it are the following quotes:

“the Song of Songs advocates balance in female and male relationships, urging mutuality not domination, interdependence not enmity, sexual fulfillment not mere procreation, uninhibited love not bigoted emotions.”

“There is nothing here of the aggressive male and the reluctant or victimized female.”

“Love is mutual, exclusive, total, and beautiful.”

This reminded me of a class at my church a couple years ago. It was intense, fast paced, and involved much Bible reading. But the point is that Song of Songs was covered, and I heard an egalitarian perspective on this book for the first time. My notes state:

Song of Songs can remind us of Eden before the Fall, when there was full harmony between man and woman. Song of Songs contrasts with Genesis 3:16. Man and woman are equal in Song of Songs, and the woman referred to with images of power. She says “my beloved desires me” rather than “my desire is for my husband.” We can observe a healing of relationships damaged by disobedience in Eden.

I plan another brief post about a Methodist woman from the early 20th century. I’d never heard of her before, and am fascinated. She was a voice for equality for women in the church and home, ahead of her time.

