Tags

, , ,

For today’s post, I share a group of tweets from a local pastor – Jason Malone. Find him on twitter: @malonesummit

My regular readers will notice that many of these tweets share a similar theme or emphasis as my book: Positively Powerless, How a Forgotten Movement Undermined Christianity. If I’d come across some of these tweets sooner, I may have gotten permission to include several in my book. I’m wordy, and not-so-good at reducing ideas to a “tweetable” thought. I guess that is why I wrote a book!

Hope you’ll appreciate these:

In our self help Christian culture Jesus says, ‘Beware of false prophets who come to you.’ If a false gospel was being shared would you know?”

“Why corporate worship? Because in a culture that is constantly telling us it’s all about us…it’s good to be reminded it’s not.”

[Note from me – Thus it is even more disturbing when songs/sermons in church are self-focused!]

“To those always looking for your next blessing: when you realize Jesus is the blessing, you’ll find rest & not need the promise of a refund.”

“Read Scripture thinking you’re the main point of every text and it’ll either crush you or make you an arrogant jerk face. Jesus is the point.

[Note from me – I recently heard this described as narcigesis – rather than exegesis. haha.]

“Matthew 7…ask/seek/knock. He is our good Father but despite what ‘American Christianity’ tells you, He’s not our genie in a bottle.”

Without confidence of who you are in Jesus, your self worth will depend on what others think/feel about you…& there is no freedom in that.”

“Today we can choose to live from the premise ‘I deserve better’ or ‘I have more than I deserve’. Those we do life with will know our choice.”

“The hymn ‘Jesus I Am Resting, Resting’…may I recommend listening to it, meditating on it, setting your alarm to wake up to it. Solid words.”

Truth in our self sufficient culture. Ps 138: ‘Though I walk in the midst of trouble, you preserve my life & with your right hand you save me.'”

And for fun:

“I passed a church called Promised Land Baptist Church & I just feel like that’s a lot of pressure.”

