The below post is from Professor Phillip Long at Reading Acts. He shares sadly funny things he observes in student papers. Take note of #8, as it applies in other situations as well – such as those teaching a church small group, Bible study, or class. Google can be dangerous, very dangerous…unless you already know your Bible and theology  well enough to properly discern the information. Anything and everything is on the internet.

As Long states in the post: “First, do not do biblical research by googling your topic. Second, if you break that rule, at least think critically about the content. Who wrote the website? What is their theological emphasis?”

If you are incapable of the later, you should not be relying on google. Every Christian should have at least a basic personal library of Christian reference works. Begin there. (Hmm…a future blog post: suggestions for a basic Christian home library.)

Reading Acts

Two years ago I thought it would be funny to write a few tweets with common student mistakes. This turned into a “top ten list” of things I have consistently read while grading Bible papers. I just did these as tweets over a couple of days (and yes, you should follow me on twitter, @Plong42).  Several people encouraged me to collect the tweets as a blog post, which I did. To my surprise, the “Top 10 Ways to Fail a Bible Paper” had the highest single day traffic on Reading Acts ever.

It has been two years so I thought I would create a second list of common mistakes when writing a Bible paper. First, I need to make a few clarifications. First, there is no one student in mind for any of the Top Ten. These are the types of things that regularly turn up in undergraduate Bible papers, from freshmen to seniors. Most of my…

View original post 886 more words

