Tags

,

An emphasis of my blog is that it is okay to be honest with God and each other.  As my Pascal tagline states: “In faith there is enough light for those who want to believe and enough shadows to blind those who don’t.” Sometimes we experience very real doubts, struggles…shadows. But are we lamenting or complaining?? There is a difference.

Sometimes I’ve heard an individual express themselves, and while I could not quite put my finger on why, I did not approve of their sharing because of how it came across. This excerpt from Ann Voskamp’s book made a good point:

Lament is a cry of belief in a good God, a God who has His ear to our hearts, a God who transfigures the ugly into beauty.

Complaint is the bitter howl of unbelief in any benevolent God in this moment, a distrust in the love-beat of the Father’s heart…

True lament is the bold faith that trusts Perfect Love enough to feel and cry authentic.” –  Ann Voskamp

