Here are a few links to share that I have recently found interesting:

  • In this post, I think Randy Alcorn does a good job diplomatically discussing The Heaven is for Real movie (and book). I share his concern in particular here:

    I do believe that something is seriously wrong if people take more time to contemplate and discuss Colton Burpo’s account than they do studying what the Bible actually says about Heaven. The back cover of the book says “Heaven Is for Real will forever change the way you think of eternity.” I would say, “Seek to let the Bible change the way you think of eternity.

  • Serious reading takes a hit from on-line scanning and skimming, researchers say. The title adequately explains what the article is about. I share the same concern. I know my blog posts, which are typically 800-1200 words, are too long for the way people scan and skim on-line but I can’t write any briefer.
  • A few weeks ago I had a post highlighting how egalitarianism is not a concession to secular culture and shared historical exceptions. Well, Sandra Glahn has a post more scholarly and historical than mine: The Feminists we Forgot. She shares how evangelicals have misread history and how her own view has changed. (Glahn is not an egalitarian by the way, but I’d describe her as a soft complementarian who encourages women to see their potential for God and not limit themselves by cultural gender roles.)

That’s the essence of our faith. It’s living with hope in the face of mystery. We live a life of faith completely full of hope, staring mystery right in the face. You can’t have one without the other. Your faith won’t survive without hope, and hope won’t survive without the realization that there are mysteries that will not be answered. If you can embrace both, you can have a vibrant faith.

  •  The Power of God’s Grace. I appreciated this post from Marg Mowczko. Also check out her newlife web site – many worthwhile articles. “But grace is more than passively receiving divine favor and pardon…A faulty understanding of grace can lead to complacency and passivity. God’s grace, however, should motivate and empower us. It is active and dynamic.”
