Baker Book House Church Connection

How many times have you heard prayers start with “Father, we thank you for this day.” I’m convinced that this is filler while the person is thinking about what they really want to say. Rather than pause and gather your thoughts we rush into saying anything to avoid the dreaded and awkward silence. We then proceed to pray for safe travel, healing for someone who is ill, upcoming exams, job interviews, etc. None of these are wrong to pray for but I wonder if we are missing something. Paul says in Ephesians 1:17 that he “keep[s] asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better.” I can’t ever remember someone praying this for me. When I did a study of the prayers of Paul some time ago I remember feeling that…

View original post 309 more words

