Tags

, , ,

P1060789What are you reading? I generally have 3 to 5 books going at the same time. Years ago, I would only read one book at a time, and felt I could not start a new book until I finished it. Yet, that really limited my reading. If I’m reading several books at a time, I can choose the book that best matches my current mood, frame of mind, mental acuity level, etc. And in the end, I get a lot more reading done!

Here is my current stack. Actually I just finished the Wolf Wars book. I’ve long loved and had a fascination with wolves. This book chronicles the political and bureaucratic battle that spanned about 20 years to finally get wolves reintroduced to Yellowstone National Park.

I recently started the Faith and Culture Devotional. It is designed to read one a day for 15 weeks. It covers the 7 subjects of: theology, history, philosophy, science, literature, art, and contemporary culture. These are written by over 50 contributors such as William Lane Craig, Darrell Bock,  Sam Storms, Walter Kaiser, Philip Yancey, Michael Behe, and Dallas Willard.

Anne Rice…the famous vampire author and atheist who became a Christian. Yes, I know that Rice became disillusioned with the church a couple years ago and rejected it, but she still loves Jesus and tries to follows Him (as far as I know at least). I stumbled across her book Christ the Lord, Out of Egypt. It is a fictionalized account of the childhood of Jesus. We know very little (next to nothing) about the youth of Jesus. But Rice did a great deal of research, and while the story is fiction, she tried to otherwise be historically and culturally accurate. It is something to wonder about…what was Jesus like as a child? I’m enjoying it so far. What I actually found most fascinating was the section at the back of book (which I read first) where she summarizes her spiritual journey, move to faith, and all the reading and studying she did! She read extensively, including many academic works, on Jesus and the New Testament.

Next is, A Quest for Godliness: The Puritan Vision of the Christian Life by JI Packer. I’m a Packer fan (anyone else?). This book might be described as an introduction to the Puritans, with a focus on their beliefs, spiritual way of life, and a look at specific influential Puritans such as John Owen, Richard Baxter, and Jonathan Edwards. The Puritans are often maligned and viewed from a lopsided perspective, and Packer attempts a more balanced and positive approach.

Finally, The Triumph of Christianity: How the Jesus Movement Became the World’s Largest Religion by Rodney Stark. I’m only a few chapters into this but it is hard to put down. It is very “readable” even as it addresses historical issues. Here’s a description from amazon: “Celebrated religious and social historian Rodney Stark traces the extraordinary rise of Christianity through its most pivotal and controversial moments to offer fresh perspective on the history of the world’s largest religion. The author… gathers and refines decades of powerful research and discovery into one concentrated, concise, and highly readable volume that explores Christianity’s most crucial episodes.”

I checked The Triumph of Christianity out of the library, and I think I’m already regretting it. Meaning, I wish I owned it as it would be a good reference source to have in my personal library, and I’d like to highlight and underline things.

Feel free to share what you are reading! And thanks for following my blog.

