Tags

, , , ,

Regular readers of my blog know that I encourage the reading of books. For example, here are a couple of past posts:

Do you appreciate Christian books? , where I encourage you to take advantage of the wealth of resources we have available in english.    -and-

Sunday thoughts on reading, where I share some personal reading tips.

Recently I came across some thoughts on the connection between reading and writing. Basically, if you want to be a good writer – you also need to do a lot of reading!

The greatest part of a writer’s time is spent in reading. In order to write, a man will turn over half a library…  Samuel Johnson

If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or the tools) to write. Simple as that. Stephen King

If you want to be a writer, you must do two things above all others: read a lot and write a lot. Stephen King

I think the middle quote by King hits on the core issue – if you don’t read, you lack “the tools” to write. As I said in one of my previous posts –

P1060789Reading is how we: learn new things, develop our imagination, expand our perspectives, sharpen our beliefs, develop empathy, grow our vocabulary, get glimpses into other cultures, improve our concentration.  Reading enlarges our world in so many ways!  Without these advantages, I think writing becomes a more difficult task.

But I didn’t overlook the fact that writing a lot is also a key to becoming a better writer! And I’ve not been a consistent blogger of late. Hoping to get my blogging back in gear soon! Thanks for subscribing to Enough Light. I appreciate you.

