Tags

, , , ,

I recently finished reading the book The Irresistible Revolution by Shaine Claiborne, and wanted to share this brief excerpt that relates to my last post on “doing” vs “being” community. You’ll note that it shares a similar theme, and I thought the Bonhoeffer quote really nailed it.

We can easily become so driven by our vision for church growth, community, or social justice that we forget the little things, like caring for those around us. An older charismatic woman told me “If the devil can’t steal your soul, he’ll just keep you busy doing meaningless church work.” There is a brilliant truth I’ve come to see, largely because of Dietrich Bonhoeffer, spiritual writer and fellow resister, whose words are now inscribed on my wall:

“The person who loves their dream of community will destroy community [even if their intentions are ever so earnest], but the person who loves those around them will create community.”

I acquired a copy of Bonhoeffer’s book Life Together: The Classic Exploration of Faith in Community a few months ago, and the above quote got me to pull it off my shelf and begin reading it. What are you reading? I’m also reading Faith & Doubt by John Ortberg.

