Tags

, , , , ,

Greetings everyone! I haven’t blogged much lately. I guess I needed a little break as I’ve had some other things going on in my life. This post will be a brief book review.

Who Moved the Stone? by Frank Morison

This book on the resurrection of Christ has been recommended to me multiple times over the years. I finally acquired a copy of it a few months ago, and it seemed this time of year would be the ideal time to read it! It is an older book, originally published in 1930, but is considered a timeless classic that is still worth the read.  I agree.

The author was skeptical about the resurrection of Christ and originally set out to research the issue to confirm his skepticism. I’ve never read anything quite like this book on the resurrection of Christ! It is like the author took a magnifying glass to the resurrection accounts and very carefully analyzed them. He considered the 4 Gospel accounts, the apostle Paul’s writings about the resurrection, and extra-biblical historical sources as well. No pun intended, he left no stone unturned! He was like a sleuth or detective, asking all kinds of questions as he minutely approached the texts. He took notice of details that had never even occurred to me.

Based on comments made by the author, I would say he definitely did not have a view of biblical inerrancy as traditional evangelicals argue for, and this wasn’t even an issue for him. He approached it as a secular historian trying to get to the bottom of what really happened. He came to the conclusion that, despite some minor differences or problems in the accounts (which he viewed as explainable and/or to be expected as one analyzes events that have receded into the past), that the resurrection of Christ was indeed a real historical event that actually took place. He found no way around this conclusion. He says his “perspective shifted…by the very stubbornness of the facts themselves.”   The book was an accident as he set out on a personal level to confirm his skepticism in the resurrection, but came to the opposite end.

The author has a couple of unique ideas that I don’t agree with (such as that it wasn’t an angel at the tomb but a young man). But, I wholeheartedly recommend this book…for believers and skeptics alike. Its attention to detail and careful questions make it a unique read – and I would place it on a “must read” list for those who don’t want to dismiss the resurrection of Christ before properly considering a variety of apologetic works.

