Tags

, ,

Back on March 20th, I had a post entitled: “Why are (Some) Evangelical Christians so Obnoxious?” I hoped it would generate a little more discussion…some thoughtful analysis, introspection, possible solutions, etc. Please take a moment to read the post if you did not read it then. The point was that evangelicals tend to be guilty of rude and demanding behavior when they are customers, patients, patrons, etc.

Today I stumbled upon another blogger who had a similar post entitled “Christians: the Worst Kind of Customer.”  This blogger has worked in the food service industry and has consistently found evangelicals to be the worst kind of customer. Please take a moment to read his post. I’m a female, so I will point out that he said Christian women’s conferences were the worst. Shame ladies. I avoid Christian women’s events for various reasons, but one reason would be that they are too often shallow and superficial. And now I can’t help but wonder if there is some correlation there.

Please note that we are both Christians. It is not like we are unbelievers or atheists trying to discredit Christians or Christianity. I can’t speak for this other blogger, only myself, but we are simply calling it like we see it. And the point is not to be judgmental and trash other Christians…but to hopefully get us to consider our behavior in public and how it can discredit not only us but the faith.

Perhaps this would be a good time to read Philippians chapter 2. Here are verses 3 to 5:

“Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit.Rather, in humility value others above yourselves,not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others.In your relationships with one another, have the same mindset as Christ Jesus…”

