Tags

, , , , , ,

Recently I had a series of 3 posts on the concept of a “relationship with God.”  The first post was entitled “Problems with saying you have a relationship with God…maybe we need new terminology?”    Although I do think we can have a relationship with God, I think the wording of “relationship” can create misunderstandings and unrealistic expectations. The last post refers to a book entitled: Reaching for the Invisible God by Philip Yancey.  How do we have a relationship with a God that we can’t see, hear, touch?  I have an extra copy and would love to give it away. It is used, but in very good condition. As always, Yancey writes in an authentic and down-to-earth way, never afraid to ask the hard questions.

The second book I am giving away was originally mentioned in a post called “Putting yourself in another’s shoes (faith and suffering).”  This book is entitled: A Grace Disguised, How the Soul grows Through Loss by Gerald Sittser. This book deeply, deeply impacted me. The author experienced catastrophic personal loss. He lost his wife, mother, and daughter all at once in a tragic car accident by a drunk driver!  Can you imagine? He does not sugarcoat his terrible pain and his struggle to go on with life.  Yet, hope breaks through! He offers profound insights into the Christian faith and suffering, forgiveness, and grace. I highly recommend this redemptive book! This book is used also, but in very good condition.

If you’d like to win either of these books, please leave a comment. In your comment, please say which book you are interested in. If you are interested in both, that is okay! And this is optional – but if there is a special reason one of these books would be helpful to you, please feel free to share your thoughts.

I’ll choose two winners next Friday, which is January 20th.

**Jan. 21: Well, no one entered. If anyone stumbles upon this at a later date, and would like one of the books, please just let me know. If I still have them, I’ll gladly mail you the one you’d like.

