Tags

, , , , ,

I had a recent post about a book on the “lost art of one-anothering.”  Today’s post is about another “lost art” book! I have heard good things about this book, but have not gotten a copy yet. This one is called “The Lost Art of Praying Together.”   Have you read it? If so, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Sometimes I think my expectations are too high. Or that I am perhaps being too negative. But the titles of these two books make me realize I am evidently not alone! I am not the only one to feel like “one-anothering” and “praying together” are being neglected in too many Christian circles today….and have indeed become “lost arts.”

I’ve had disappointing small group experiences the last few years – for several different reasons. But all the groups neglected praying together. It really concerned me. The one group did not pray at all – the leaders said prayer would take “too much time.”  Yes, you read that right. In another group, prayer was always a last moment tack on…as in “Oh my, we only have 3 minutes left. Does anyone have a prayer need?”  I briefly mentioned the possibility of more time for prayer to the leaders. I was essentially told that I “expected too much too soon.”  They said that the group needed to meet together with more of a socialization focus for 2 or 3 years to establish relationships, and then we could take time for more spiritual things like praying together. Wow- I have to wait 2 or 3 years to have genuine prayer with other believers? I was actually struck speechless, and really said nothing in response.

I am sorry if my posts sometimes have a negative edge. The last several years of my Christian life have just been a little discouraging for me…in regards to my relationships with other believers. On a personal level, I have never felt closer or more in love with Jesus. But I long for authentic fellowship with other believers, where we are really living the Christian life in a “one-another” way.

On a light note, this short video uses humor to make a point about shallow small groups. “Because when things get too deep, people drown!” – “Be the super in superficial!”

