Tags

, , ,

What are you reading? I always like to hear what others are reading. What has recently challenged or helped you? Especially in the life of faith? This is what I have read since I last posted on my reading in January:

  • These two books are often considered contemporary “classics” but I somehow never read them until now. “The Holiness of God” by RC Sproul and The Pursuit of Holiness” by Jerry Bridges. I’d recommend reading them in that order. Both of these books will help you with a God-centered theology and approach to Christian living. The Holiness of God lays the foundation for a more majestic view of the holy God…something that is too often missing in modern day evangelicalism. We over-emphasize some of God’s attributes to the neglect of others.  Romans 11:22 tells us to “consider the goodness and severity of God.”  We need to contemplate both, and this book helps us do that. The Pursuit of Holiness is an immensely practical and down-to-earth book that just says it like it is…on how the Christian can live a life of holiness. Holiness isn’t attained through an extravagant experience or “secret”… but is the everyday course of life.
  • I’ve also read these two books: The Journey Back to Eden: Restoring the Creator’s Design for Women and Men” by Glen Scorgie, and Beyond Sex Roles” by Gilbert Bilezikian. Both books are solidly evangelical, committed to the authority of the Scriptures…yet egalitarian. Bilezikian’s book is academic and carefully analyzes the pertinent Scriptures, but is also readable and accessible to the interested layperson. He keeps some of the details in the extensive footnotes. Scorgie’s book has a more “big picture” focus. I especially appreciated his chapters on the Trinity and on the totally counter-cultural way that Jesus treated women in the Gospels. An encouraging book that was the right thing for me to read right now. I highly recommend both books for anyone interested in these issues.
  • Finally, I read “The Fellowship of the Ring” – first in the Lord of the Rings trilogy by JRR Tolkien. This is my 5th time reading through these books. They never get old! This time it is the fastest I’ve been able to read – I guess after so many reads, the characters are my close friends. I’m a part of Middle Earth. Call me Arwen Evenstar.
  • Oops…last but definitely not least. I am reading through the New Testament this year, and have just begun in Luke. I am using a devotional guide called “Day by Day Through the New Testament” by Precious Seed Publications out of England. It is available in the USA through Gospel Folio Press. I am greatly appreciating this devotional…it is devotional, yet has depth and an expository style. So much so, that I would like to get copies of their “Day by Day” through the Old Testament and Psalms to use in 2012 and 2013.

I’ve just started reading this book: “The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People” by Stephen Covey. And I am reading for my seminary class as well…through the Old Testament prophetic books, and an accompanying text book on the prophetic books.

Yes, I spend much of my time reading, writing, and studying. I no longer work a job outside of the home (I resigned in September 2009) , so I am able to spend my time doing these things that I enjoy. But I also waste much more time than I care to admit…

