Tags

, , ,

Don’t worry – I am not walking away from my faith! But I picked up an interesting book today. It is called “Walking Away from Faith, Unraveling the Mystery of Belief and Unbelief” by Ruth Tucker. It is published by the Christian publishing house InterVarsity Press.

An excerpt: Where is the line that divides religious belief from unbelief? I’m not sure. All of us in our faith fall somewhere on the vast, subjective spectrum that ranges from absolute certainty to unrestrained skepticism. Some profess a confident belief in God that is never questioned; others cling to belief riveted with doubts, only a millimeter shy of unbelief. Some are insecure in their unbelief, while others appear to be content in their confident belief that there is no God. No matter where we find ourselves on this spectrum, we need to listen to the voices of others and refrain from hasty judgment.

From the back cover: In this no-holds-barred book, Ruth Tucker tackles the tough questions about losing faith. She gives historical perspective by looking at prominent Christians who have struggled with faith. She grapples with difficult philosophical and theological issues. She explores the hard questions that bring people to the point of losing faith – questions about suffering, science, and more.

Likely I’ll share thoughts with you, as I begin to read through this book. I’ve moved it to the top of my “to read” pile!

