Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I recently finished a series of posts on the issue of faith and suffering. (See the category section.)  It is a complex issue, and although I attempted to cover all of the main concerns, it could really be a never-ending discussion.

In my intro post on faith and suffering, I recommended three books. One of which was: If God is Good, Faith in the Midst of Suffering and Evil, by Randy Alcorn. I acquired an extra copy of this book, and would be pleased to give it away. Please note the book is used, but is in good used condition.

If you are not a “reader” I really don’t suggest this book to you as it is 500 pages long.  Even if you are a reader, 500 pages can none-the-less be intimidating but don’t let the length scare you off! Although Alcorn covers just about every major issue and perspective on this complex problem, he does it in a highly readable way. Tim Challies wrote an excellent review of this book which you can check out here.

If you’d like to have a chance to win a copy of this book, simply leave a brief comment and mention why you would appreciate this book. I’ll pick one winner on October 15, 2011.

By the way, I’m a little blog with a smaller readership, so your chance of winning should be quite good! Last book give-away I had only 2 people entered – so your chances could be as good as 50/50!! I am jealous! The book give-aways I enter usually have  hundreds of entries…

I pray that this book may help someone who is perhaps intellectually struggling to reconcile the issue of God and evil, or someone who has endured suffering and wonders where God is in all of it. This book would also be helpful to someone in Christian ministry, as the problem of God and suffering is an issue that those in ministry will confront first hand.

